We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Best Cars

Best Electric Cars for 2018

By Martin Pratt

Article 14 of 16

The best electric cars are every bit as good as their petrol or diesel rivals, with enough range for most everyday journeys. Discover the best electric cars.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Electric cars have finally come of age, offering virtually all the functionality and practicality of traditional petrol- and diesel-engined cars, while delivering zero exhaust emissions and the potential for very low day-to-day running costs.  

As demand increases, more manufacturers are offering all-electric models, spanning car-classes large and small, both mainstream and premium. At one end of the scale is the Renault Zoe, Nissan Leaf, VW e-Up and e-Golf. At the other, the likes of the BMW i3 and i8, and Tesla Model S and X. 

But are these cars good enough to be the best electric cars? The ones below are – electric cars that have aced the same tests as their conventional petrol- or diesel-powered rivals, yet can be recharged from a plug socket for a fraction of the price of a tank of fuel.

Which? members can log in to see the electric cars we recommend. If you're not already a member, join Which? to our best electric cars and all of our reviews.

Best new electric cars

Price from £20,485
Which? score 76%
Reviewed Jan 2014
Driving stability:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Ride quality:
5 out of 55 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Electric cars: tested range:
Member exclusive

The nippy, easy-to-drive electric car won't get you too far between charges, but you can't do much better than this model for zipping around town.

Price from £28,230
Which? score 76%
Reviewed Apr 2018
Driving stability:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Electric cars: tested range:
Member exclusive

We were impressed at how accurately this electric car replicates the superb handling of the model it’s based on. Plus, unlike some rival electric cars, it sacrifices almost nothing in terms of space either.

Price from £24,202
Which? score 75%
Reviewed Oct 2017
Driving stability:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Ride quality:
3 out of 53 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Electric cars: tested range:
Member exclusive

Decent driving range reduces the anxiety over tackling longer journeys in this all-electric vehicle, which is also well-equipped and safe in an accident.

Price from £23,504
Which? score 75%
Reviewed Nov 2014
Driving stability:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Electric cars: tested range:
Member exclusive

Aside from the usual electric car compromises of a high purchase price and limited range, this is a thoroughly practical and likeable electric compact crossover. Low day-to-day running costs (and government grants) should help ease the financial burden. So if your lifestyle and budget can accommodate an electric car then it should certainly be considered.

Price from £29,575
Which? score 74%
Reviewed Jan 2017
Driving stability:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Ride quality:
3 out of 53 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Electric cars: tested range:
Member exclusive

This all-electric hatchback has decent range and performance, and an upmarket feel typical of the brand. A range extender hybrid version is also available or those who regularly travel further afield.

Best used electric cars

Price from £4,195
Which? score 74%
Reviewed Jan 2011
Driving stability:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Brand reliability 3-8 years:
5 out of 55 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Electric cars: tested range:
Member exclusive

This small, cheap-to-run electric car is best suited for the city, where there is plenty of access to charging points. If you can keep it charged, you'll find a car that's quiet and easy to drive.

Price from £6,298
Which? score 70%
Reviewed Sep 2017
Driving stability:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Brand reliability 3-8 years:
3 out of 53 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Electric cars: tested range:
Member exclusive

This unassuming hatchback made history as the first widely adopted electric car. And for good reason: it's as practical as most of its petrol-powered hatchback rivals, and is built to a high standard. If you've got room for an electric car in your life, we highly recommend it.

Price from £15,687
Which? score 68%
Reviewed Feb 2015
Driving stability:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Brand reliability 3-8 years:
3 out of 53 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Electric cars: tested range:
Member exclusive

A battery electric car that doesn't compromise on luxury. This may be mistaken for a frumpy hatchback, but it's got most of the luxury trappings of more expensive models. The silent electric drivetrain only improves the tranquility. It's a deserved Which? Best Buy.

Price from £9,009
Which? score 66%
Reviewed Jul 2013
Driving stability:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Brand reliability 3-8 years:
3 out of 53 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Electric cars: tested range:
Member exclusive

The powerful electric motor means this car doesn’t need much coaxing to take off. Although it needs careful handling, as the instant power can leave it feeling a little frenzied. Compared to petrol and diesel rivals, it's super cheap to run.

Electric ranges at a glance

Here are all the ranges from all electric cars we've tested so far. This is a Which? member exclusive, so log in to see which cars can do the most miles between charges:

We test cars more thoroughly than anyone else

Our tests go further than those carried out by other organisations, and because Which? is independent and doesn't accept advertising or freebies, you can trust our reviews to give you the full, honest and impartial truth about every car we test.

Every car we review is subjected to more than 100 individual tests in a lab, on a test track, and on real roads – and we really clock up the miles, driving around 500 miles in every car we test.

Testing in controlled lab conditions means the results we collect are directly comparable between different cars, helping us determine exactly which models are better and why, and helping you find the perfect car for your needs

And so you know which cars are likely to prove reliable for years to come, we also gather feedback from thousands of UK car owners through the Which? Car Survey, using it to generate detailed reliability ratings for the cars we test.

To take the guesswork out of choosing your next car, join Which? and you'll receive access to all our expert reviews and advice.

SHARE THIS PAGE